California Employers Still Must Require Masks in the Workplace

May 12, 2021

While Californians may be excited by the news that the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (“CDC”) is relaxing its guidance on wearing masks outdoors for people who are fully vaccinated, California employers should not let up on the requirement to wear masks in the workplace.

Under the California Division of Occupational Safety and Health (“Cal/OSHA”) standards, people are required to be masked if they are in a public or private space with people from outside their household, regardless of whether they are interacting inside or outside.

Based on Cal/OSHA’s rules, employers should continue to require all employees, even those working outside, to wear masks.

California officials plan to lift most COVID-19 business restrictions and reopen the economy on June 15, 2021.  However, officials have said that mask mandates will continue to stay in effect.

Employers need to continue to enforce mask requirements for their employees.  An employee’s refusal to wear or refusal to wear a mask properly, is grounds for discipline – just like any safety policy violation.

Should you have any questions regarding an employer’s obligations to comply with COVID-19 safety protocols, call the attorneys at Freeburg & Granieri, APC.


Contact us

Our clients become friends, confidants, and repeat customers. Former clients are our best referral source.

Do not be a commodity, find an attorney who treats your legal issue with the care it deserves.

Centered in Pasadena and serving all of California – including, but not limited to, Fresno County (Clovis, Fresno, San Joaquin); Kern County (Arvin, Bakersfield, Delano, Mojave, Tehachapi); Los Angeles County (Alhambra, Burbank, Calabasas, Encino, Glendale, Long Beach, Manhattan Beach, San Gabriel, Santa Monica, Torrance, Whittier); Mono County (June Lake, Mammoth Lakes); Riverside County (Coachella, Corona, Indian Wells, Moreno Valley, Murrieta, Palm Desert, Palm Springs, Riverside, Temecula); San Bernardino County (Barstow, Big Bear Lake, Chino, Fontana, Ontario, Rancho Cucamonga, Upland, Yucca Valley); San Diego County (Carlsbad, Chula Vista, Encinitas, Oceanside, San Diego); San Luis Obispo County (Arroyo Grande, Atascadero, Cambria, Morro Bay, Paso Robles, Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo); Stanislaus County (Ceres, Modesto, Oakdale, Turlock, Riverbank, Salida); Ventura County (Camarillo, Oxnard, Thousand Oaks, Ventura)
Mon : 8:00am - 6:00pm
Tue: 8:00am - 6:00pm
Wed: 8:00am - 6:00pm
Thurs: 8:00am - 6:00pm
Fri: 8:00am - 6:00pm
Sat & Sun: Closed
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram